The Hawkesbury Art Prize Inc. is a non-acquisitive art award originally established in 2011 by Robyn Williams and Purple Noon Gallery as part of a Western Sydney University project. Presently, it operates independently as a not for profit event run by an incorporated committee of dedicated volunteers now administered by this committee and implemented through Purple Noon Gallery, in association with Patron and donor Maggie Kable and The Pieter Huveneers Trust, and other generous sponsors.  


‘First Prize’ of $10,000 plus artist residency is awarded to the winning entry.  Two ‘Highly Commended’ awards of $1000 and an additional art residency are also awarded. Three eminent visual arts professionals judge the prize and select the finalists. The art prize is for a painting or collage that is inspired by contemporary Australian identity. Artists are invited to respond to the concept of contemporary identity in Australian life. Accordingly, the theme often helps artists explain the rapidly changing environment in which they live, or, conversely, promotes diverse portrayals of history, landscape, and ways of seeing. The ensuing exhibition showcases the freshness and vitality of the creative artists that enrich our Australian communities.  The winning works form an important collection of modern and contemporary art, reflecting developments in Australian identities; landscape and arts practice in the contemporary era. The Prize has been set up in the Hawkesbury as a not for profit project,


The aim of the Hawkesbury Art Prize is to promote art in the Hawkesbury/Western Sydney region and increase awareness of art and cultural activity, to the mutual benefit of community, artists and students.  Profits have led to the establishment of financial scholarship for talented and aspirational young artists in the region.


The Prize attracts a national audience and high profile participants to the Hawkesbury region, embracing the cultural and economic environment of the community. Around 40 – 50 finalists are invited to exhibit and sell their work at the Opening Exhibition, which follows the announcement of winners.

The number of entries determines the success of the event, along with finalist exhibition art sales, which in turn determines the funding available to distribute to charity, scholarship or appointed community project.


Apart from the honour of winning an art prize, artists engage with a commercial event, the public, and gain gallery exposure and a range of professional development opportunities. Art competitions are an excellent opportunity to grow as an artist and develop art careers. They can benefit an artist in a number of different ways – exposure, exhibitions, and becoming self-confident in a commercial art platform. The art prize also attracts tourists and visitors to the historic Hawkesbury region.


Historically, the Hawkesbury has a strong association with art and artists. The art prize is also a commitment to recognise these historical ties, and strengthen the cultural and artistic community ties with contemporary creative ideas. The goal is to see the Hawkesbury Art Prize become a major western Sydney event, occurring biennially, as a community partnership embracing high profile Australian artists and community leaders and identities.


Dr Pamela James

Art Historian

Adjunct Fellow

Western Sydney University

Madeleine Tuckfield-Carrano

Artist and Director Artsite Gallery 


Dan Kyle

Artist, recipient 2020 Brett Whiteley Travelling Art Scholarship

Represented by Martin Brown Contemporary and Edwina Corlette Gallery


1st Prize, The Hawkesbury Art Prize:  $10,000 plus 2 week art residency at Glenhuntly Estate, Kurrajong

Highly Commended: $1,000 plus 2 week art residency at Glenhuntly Estate, Kurrajong.

Highly Commended (Hawkesbury Resident): $1,000

4 x Commended: Minor prize attached to this award


‘Packers Prize’ (selected by committee): $500



Opened by The Hon. John Brown

Winner $10,000: Naomi Grant (WA) “Beachscape”  

Highly Commended $1,000:  Judy Brownlie  “Over the Lowlands”

Highly Commended $1,000:  Rob Sledge “Landscaping in Aqua Approaches to the New Bridge over Rickaby’s Creek I and II” 

Commended: Guy Morgan “Tucanae”

Tanya Stubbles “Roadside Love” 

Hadyn Wilson “The Way through our Town” 

Josephine Blue “Unrelenting” 

2011 Judges   

Monica McMahon, Curator of Art University Western Sydney

Fabri Blacklock, practicing artist and PhD candidate

Paul Delprat, Principal, Julian Ashton Art School




Opened by Federal Member for Macquarie, Louise Markus.           

Winner $10,000: Liam Benson “Mrs Boss”

Highly Commended $1,000: Margaret Loy Purla (NT) “Anatye – Bush Potato”

Highly Commended $1,000: Neil Taylor “Remember the Sun”

Highly Commended $1,000: Graham Kuo “After Fire”

Commended: Jack Rowland (VIC) “Gazer”

Anne Hayes (QLD) “Helianthus Annuus”

Claire Primrose (ACT) “Looking for Signs”

Jennifer Roberts “Sandmining in the Hawkesbury”

2012 Judges   

Emeritus Prof. Peter Pinson

Artist, Max Miller

Artist, Activist and Lecturer, r e a




Opened by Hawkesbury Mayor Kim Ford

Winner $10,000: Andrews Peters (TAS) & Kate Hansen, collaborating “Washing Day”

Highly Commended $1,000: Susan J White “Hawkesbury”

Highly Commended $1,000: Greg Hansell “Wilberforce Sheds”

Highly Commended $1,000: Victoria Peel “Night Crossing”

Commended:  Joan Ross “The Naming of Things”

Josie Kunoth Petyarra (VIC) “Sugar Bag St

Robert Ewing (WA) “Sky Dragons VII”

Penny Spankie “Relocation at 30 Days”

2013 Judges   

Artist Wendy Sharpe

Artist Chris Gentle

Paul Brinkman, Direct Blue Mountains Cultural Centre



2015                Opened by Susan Templeman MP

Winner $5,000 (18-40 yrs): Hiren Patel “Winter Light Sydney”

Highly Commended $1,000: Jack Rowland (VIC) “The Holy Mountain”

Highly Commended $1,000 (Hawkesbury): Taryn Malzard “Forest Giant”

Commended:  Martin Claydon “Embrace and Hold”

Jack Rowland (Vic) “Munnar”

Gauri Torgaqlkar “And Just for a Moment the Parramatta River Becomes the Ganges”

Fionna Barrett-Clark “Afternoon Shadows”

2015 Judges   

Artist Judy Brownlie

Art collector, investor and critic, Alex Lister

Art and cultural heritage writer, PhD candidate, Vicki Oliveri



2017                Cancelled


2019                Opened by Susan Templeman Federal MP for Macquarie

Winner $10,000 + art residency at Glenhuntly Estate: Ben Tankard “Aussie As 2”

Highly Commended $1,000 + art residency at Glenhuntly Estate: Frances Feasey “Back-burning Blue”

Highly Commended (Hawkesbury) $1,000: Greg Hansell “Thompson Square Windsor and to the North West”

Commended:  Benjamin Aitken (VIC) “Wardandi Yok”

Kate Dorrough “The river is part of me”

Anh Nguyen “Pho by myself”

Clare Purser (QLD) “Towards the Island, Morton Bay”

2019 Judges   

Monica McMahon, Art Curator Western Sydney University

Artist and sculptor Alan Somerville,

Artist Laura Jones artist represented by Olsen Galleries Woollahra